

May 17, 2022

## SAIC Full-Time Faculty Letter of Support for AICWU Faculty Organizing

As full-time, tenured and tenure-track faculty at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, we support our non-tenure-track faculty colleagues — lecturers and ranked adjuncts — who are seeking to form a union with Art Institute of Chicago Workers United as part of AFSCME Council 31. The organizing effort represents faculty from every academic and studio department at the School. Our letter, too, includes faculty from all departments.

The School will not run without our non-tenure-track colleagues, as outlined in the SAIC Faculty union announcement letter. These faculty constitute 75% of teaching staff, and are active — often leading — creators of our renowned and innovative curriculum. Part-time faculty provide key curricular coverage and make up the most diverse segment of the SAIC faculty. In addition to teaching at both graduate and undergraduate levels, part-time faculty also serve as program coordinators and elected representatives in faculty governance, and they represent the school in admissions, exhibitions, and connections to Chicago communities. This does not include the hours that part-time faculty put toward unpaid student mentorship and advising, especially during the challenging last two years of pandemic response. Moreover, faculty appointed as Lecturers (who constitute up to 45% of all SAIC faculty in a given year) are not eligible for employer-supported health insurance while also being more likely to work in person during the pandemic. As full-time faculty we acknowledge the challenges to morale that have resulted from this lack of job security and institutional support.

We recognize the significant, invaluable, and substantial contributions our non-tenure track colleagues make to teaching excellence, curricular development, student success, institutional service, and creative practice. They are an important reason why SAIC is internationally known as the leading American art and design school.

We support the right of our faculty colleagues to organize and represent themselves, and make their own decisions about their collective representation. We urge our President and Provost to continue to meet in good faith with part-time faculty. After a challenging two years of pandemic work, we ask our senior administration to foster a community of active listening to restore trust and allow us to work together in shared commitment to the School and our students.

Sincerely,

Abigail Glaum-Lathbury, Associate Professor, Fashion Design Adam J Greteman, Associate Professor, Art Education Adam Mack, Associate Professor, Liberal Arts Adrian Wong, Associate Professor, Sculpture

Alison Ruttan, Associate Professor, Contemporary Practices

Amy Vogel, Associate Professor, Contemporary Practices

Andy Hall, Associate Professor, Contemporary Practices

Anke Loh, Associate Professor, Fashion

Anonymous, Assistant Professor

Anonymous, Assistant Professor

Anna Martine Whitehead, Assistant Professor, Contemporary Practices

Anne Harris, Associate Professor, Painting and Drawing

Anne T. Sullivan, Associate Professor, Historic Preservation

Anne Wilson, Professor Emeritus, Fiber and Material Studies

Annie Bourneuf, Associate Professor, Art History, Theory, and Criticism

Arnold J. Kemp, Professor, Painting and Drawing

Benjamin Larose, Assistant Professor, Fashion Design

Bess Williamson, Professor, Art History, Theory, and Criticism

Brian P. Sikes, Associate Professor, Contemporary Practices

Christina Gomez, Professor and Chair of Liberal Arts

Claire Pentecost, Professor, Photography

Claudia Hart, Professor, Film, Video, New Media, and Animation

Daniel Eisenberg, Professor, Film, Video, New Media, and Animation

Danielle Andress, Assistant Professor, Fiber and Material Studies

Dan Price, Associate Professor, Sculpture

Daniel Quiles, Associate Professor and Chair, Art History, Theory, and Criticism

David Raskin, Mohn Family Professor of Contemporary Art History

Dawit L. Petros, Associate Professor, Photography

Dushko Petrovich, Associate Professor, New Arts Journalism

Ellen Grimes, Associate Professor, AIADO

Frédéric Moffet, Associate Professor and Chair of Film, Video, New Media and Animation

Gregg Bordowitz, Professor, Director Low Residency MFA Program

Hương Ngô, Assistant Professor, Contemporary Practices

Janet Desaulniers, Professor, Writing

Jennifer Lee, Assistant Professor, Art History, Theory, and Criticism

Jeremy Biles, Associate Professor, Department of Liberal Arts

jina valentine, Associate Professor, Printmedia

Jonas nt Becker, Assistant Professor, Photography

Jonathan Solomon, Associate Professor

Joseph Grigely, Professor, Visual and Critical Studies

Judd Morrissey, Associate Professor, Art & Technology Studies

Karen Morris, Associate Professor, Visual and Critical Studies

Katherine Ross, Professor Emerita, Ceramics Department

Kathryn Schaffer, Associate Professor, Liberal Arts

Katrin Schnabl, Professor and Chair, Fashion Design

Kirin Wachter-Grene, Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts

Kirsten Leenaars, Professor, interim co-director, Contemporary Practices

Kristin McWharter, Assistant Professor, Art & Technology Studies

Lan Tuazon, Associate Professor, Sculpture

Leah Gipson, Associate Professor, Art Therapy and Counseling

Lin Hixson, Professor, Performance

Lisa Vinebaum, Associate Professor and Chair of Fiber and Material Studies, faculty co-chair of Curriculum Committee

Lou Mallozzi, Associate Professor, Sound

Maura Frana, Assistant Professor, Visual Communication Design

Maria Gaspar, Associate Professor, Contemporary Practices

Marie Hermann, Assistant Professor, Ceramics

Mark Booth, Associate Professor, Writing; Chair, Sound

mark jeffery, Professor, Performance

Mary Patten, Professor, Film, Video, New Media, and Animation

Maud Lavin, Professor emerita, Visual and Critical Studies

Mechtild Widrich, Associate Professor, Art History, Theory, and Criticism

Melika Bass, Associate Professor, Film, Video, New Media, and Animation

Mika Tosca, Associate Professor, Liberal Arts

Nicholas Lowe, Professor, Historic Preservation

Nick Cave, Professor, Fashion

Nicole Marroquin, Associate Professor, Chair of Art Education, Senator

Oliver Shao, Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts

Oli Watt. Associate Professor. Printmedia

P Power, Associate Professor, Printmedia

Pablo Garcia, Associate Professor, Contemporary Practices

Pete Oyler, Associate Professor, Designed Objects

Piotr Michura, Associate Professor, Visual Communication Design

Rachel Weiss, Professor Emerita, Arts Administration & Policy

Rey Pador, Assistant Professor, Fashion

Roberto Sifuentes, Professor, Performance

Salvador Jiménez-Flores, Assistant Professor, Ceramics

Sampada Aranke, Assistant Professor, Art History, Theory, and Criticism

Sandie Yi, Assistant Professor, Art Therapy and Counseling

Sara Black, Associate Professor, Sculpture

Sarah Rosengard, Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts

Sarah Ross, Associate Professor, Art Education; Director, MAAE Program

Savneet Talwar, Professor, Art Therapy and Counseling

Scott Reeder, Associate Professor, Painting and Drawing

Seth Kim-Cohen, Professor, Art History, Theory, and Criticism

Shiben Banerji, Associate Professor & Design History Coordinator, Art History; Affiliated Faculty, AIADO

Susan Giles, Associate Professor, Contemporary Practices

Tirtza Even, Associate Professor, Film, Video, New Media, and Animation

Tom Burtonwood, Associate Professor, Contemporary Practices

Tristan Sterk, Associate Professor, AIADO

William J O'Brien, Professor, Ceramics